Multiple WordPress Publishing….?

Hey all, I was wondering what your thoughts were on multiple publishing. Considering a few of us discussed republishing posts a few days ago, I think this is an interesting next point to discuss.
Just so we’re all on the same page, what I mean by ‘multiple publishing’ is changing the time of a post you just published so it refreshes on people’s Reader. As long as this is done within 24 hours, this can be done many times a day.
When I first saw someone I followed do this, I thought it was a glitch and was about to unfollow and refollow, but I asked them about it and they told me they do it on purpose.
It makes sense as to why (so people who may have missed it can see it) but like republishing (no offense), it just feels a bit weird. I mean, part of the point of good blogging is knowing when you get the most viewers and working around that…right?
The problem I now face is if I should do it too. All the blogs I see that do it have a lot of followers and their posts get a lot of interaction, and I’m sure that multiple publishing helps a lot in that department.
I don’t want to seem like a cop out or that I’m spamming followers in a desperate fit for attention.
Thoughts?

#help