Madhubani- Indian folk art

This is my first post here and I have the same feelings just when I was writing first post for my blog. This time again I’m finding myself out of words as I know that this post will be read by so many wonderful writers of this forum.  However, I’m trying my best and I hope my words do make some sense. 🙂

I was wondering what should I write about, and then thought why not write about something I like doing the most – Madhubani painting. Here I will be briefing little bit about this intricate folk art from Bihar in India. I’m not an expert talking on this topic but my inclination towards this art has given me some knowledge about this art.

How this art got its name?

Madhubani is a district of North Bihar and people here have great skills in art and craft – particularly Madubani painting. Since this art originated from this place hence the name Madhubani.

It’s also believed that this art form existed from the time of Ramayan.  It’s believed that ruler of Mithila king Janak commissioned for this art on his daughter Sita’s wedding with Ram. Due its place of origin, it’s also called Mithila art.

Characteristics of Madhubani:

  • Double line border with repeated floral patterns.
  • Use of bold and bright colors, colors can be natural or artificial.
  • No space is left blank (every inch is filled with minute detailing).

madhubani-bg-pattern

  • Large figures with oversize eyes and pointed nose.

Motifs and their meanings:

Madhubani painting is close to religion and mythology and a painting depicting Hindu God and Goddess is very common. Also, auspicious symbols associated with Hindu mythology can be widely seen (like swastika and flowers).

Among flowers, lotus is most widely used. Each motif has a significance attached to it. For example, fish is associated with fertility and holiness, peacock symbolizes love and romance. Lord Krishna and peacock go hand in hand in any Madhubani painting.

Madhubani over the period of time:

Madhubani art has evolved and variation can be seen in traditional style of painting. Over the period of time various artist have developed their style in Madhubani painting and made it their signature style.

Modern Madhubani artists are no more limiting themselves to just natural colors. Instead, they are moving towards easily available colors. They are blending modern sensibilities to make painting more aesthetic.

madhubani-intermediate

Earlier, it was limited to only wall art. Then it moved to handmade paper. Now, one can see Madhubani painting on any surface where painting can be done (like – silk saris, jute bags, files and folders, coffee mugs etc.). This art is loved by people all over the world and their love for this art is making it popular globally.

Here I’m sharing one of my painting ready to be framed. If you are interested in knowing more about Madhubani Painting read what is Madhubani painting.

madhubani-final

#guestfeature