Word of the Week (5/30/16): Degenerate

Word of the Week: Degenerate

(source: Dictionary.com)

Degenerate (noun) dih-jen-er-it; (verb) dih-jen-uh-reyt

(verb usage) – to fall below a normal or desirable level in physical, mental, or moral qualities
(adjective) – bad, haven fallen below the normal and/or desirable level in physical, mental, and moral qualities
(noun) – a person who has declined in terms of moral character; a sexual deviate; a person who reverts back to an earlier culture, stage of development, and/or state of evolution

Origin: The origin of “degenerate” is Latin. The word began to be used some time between 1485 and 1495.

Latin dēgenerātus (past participle of dēgenerāre to decline from an ancestral standard), equivalent to dē de- + gener-, stem of genus race (see genus ) + -ātus -ate; see generate

I actually do not like this word very much because it sounds very harsh and is very insulting. I would honestly rather hear the word “fuck” than this word. My fiancé loves to say this word because he finds a lot of things degenerate, but I guess I am just weird and would rather hear another word/phrase to describe the state of things, like horribly ridiculous.

Xara Nahara O’Connor

((P.S. I cringed while typing the word, by the way.

P.S.S. Sorry I ran late on posting, but in America, it’s Memorial Day. But I didn’t celebrate it the typical way. I was working from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. EST, and then I got caught up in napping, taking a shower, trolling the planet, and talking to my best friend.))

#etymology #weekly