Word of the Week: Expedite

Everyone seems to be in a hurry all the time.  Everything needs to be done yesterday.  When did this shift occur in the time space continuum that there wasn’t/isn’t enough time to do everything we need or want to do?

In my office, one of the favorite things is to drop a file on your desk with a note in red that says EXPEDITE.  My lead is chief among these, but the problem with her notes is that they say EXPEDICT, which isn’t a word.  It grates on my spelling-word-nerd nerves every time.  I take solace in the fact that she’s a know-it-all and I’ve quietly caught her in a mistake.

I’m letting you know, I will not be expediting anything this week.  I will be meandering through the week.  Getting done what is humanly possible.  I will not lose a minute’s sleep over things I have no control over and projects, files, and chores I have not completed.  This week, nothing in my world will be expedited.

Per the Oxford English Dictionary:

To perform quickly; to ‘get out of hand’, dispatch, accomplish (1471)

To push on with speed (in travelling)  (1596)

To help forward, hasten the progress of (1696)

To get (a person) out of the way; to get rid of, dispatch (1678)

To get (oneself) out of difficulties; to extricate, set free (1627)

 

So, I leave you with  my 6 word story…

I shall expedite my way home.

No files will be expedited today.

 

What’s your 6 Word Story?

#weekly, #etymology