The End of the World Is Near – Help!

The world as you know it – in which Waterblogged was happily self-hosted – has come to an end… the server packed in, or as good as packed in, technical support (aka my husband) called it a day… In short, I have to move my blog! 😦 End of the happy days of no adverts, customising to my heart’s content, and owning my own little space in the world. Also end to the not so happy days things breaking down for no apparent reason, googling error messages and meddling in the .php files following instructions that I couldn’t understand.

Anyhow, in short, I’m moving to wordpress.com. Which in theory should not present major problems although it will require a lot of packing and unpacking (aka updating internal links). Even the followers will be moved by Jetpack (as long as they can actually get into the server I suppose, fingers crossed it survives long enough).

But I’d like your #feedback on something. Obviously all external links to my blog will be broken (pingbacks to other sites, etc.) by the move and whoever follows those links will land on an error page instead of my blog. I can edit the error page and I’m trying to make it interesting enough for people to want to follow the link to the new blog instead of hitting the back button! I looked at some other error pages and this is what I came up with:

“Of all men’s miseries the bitterest is this: to know so much and to have control over nothing…” (Herodotus, The Histories)

You’ve been 404’d!

Waterblogged has moved to a new home: To follow it, click here [link to new blog].
To curse before you hit the back button, click here. [I’m still thinking about where to link that one]
[With a picture]: To enter the caption contest, click here [link to new blog with the relevant post]

What do you think?