Word of the Week: Loquacious

Have you ever met someone who just talks incessantly or excessively?

I recently spent a weekend with an old friend and she never stopped talking.  From the moment she sat up in bed to the minute she went to sleep, she talked.  I have never been around someone who talked so much.  She is loquacious.  The more I live alone, the more I enjoy the sound of silence.

The girls who sit near me at work never stop talking. I have taken to wearing headphones and tapping my toe even if I am not listening to music, just to try and drown them all out.  Did you see that show last night?  He went out with WHO?!  Why did I get THIS file?  WHO put this on my desk? Come watch this video.  I’m going to get breakfast, they have chicken today.  She made green bean casserole with chicken in it.  Have you heard of such a thing?  How’s your boy, the one that got shot?  They are loquacious.

I know I was a loquacious child.  I had coffee with a friend on Saturday, who said his grandson did not speak when he was little so they took him to a speech therapist, and now the child won’t stop talking.  My friend said I can’t tell him to be quiet, but sometimes when he says “Pop Pop, what’s this?” I just don’t have the energy to answer.  This child is loquacious.

Loquacious as defined by the Oxford English Dictionary is given to much talking.  First used in 1667.

There are several derivatives and I found loquent, dating back to 1593

Etymology:  Latin loquent-em, present participle of loquī to speak.

I found this use most entertaining…  1655   H. L’Estrange Reign King Charles 135:

So rare is it for a man very eloquent, not to be over loquent.

Since, I don’t want to be too loquacious, I’m going to stop now.  Tell us about someone you know who is loquacious.  Is it you?!

Do you have a six word story for loquacious?

#etymology, #weekly