Unknown Facts/Trivia Tuesday

Hello everyone! For this week’s Trivia Tuesday I have amassed a few wild felid-related facts. If you’d like to know where I found this information just let me know.

  • Relative to the lengths of their skulls, clouded leopards (Neofelis nebulosa) have the longest canine teeth of all cats.
  • For its size, the jaguar’s bite force is stronger than both the lion and the tiger. One documentary even claimed that pound for pound, a jaguar’s bite force is twice as strong as a lion’s. But since I cannot recall which documentary this was (I’ve watched too many), I cannot confirm if this is true.
  • The jaguar has the largest brain-to-body size of all the big cats.
  • Most importantly, the Andean cat (Leopardus jacobita) is real. And it’s cute.
Gato Andino from Wikimedia Commons. Public domain.

Gato Andino from Wikimedia Commons. Copyrighted free use.

Which of these facts did you find most interesting?

#weekly #triviatuesday