Book Review: Crazy

Crazy: A Father’s Search Through America’s Mental Health Madness
by: Pete Earley

In my not so professional opinion, the title of this book speaks to me on a very deep level. I was a psychology major in college, so I was deeply engrossed in Pete Earley’s journey to figuring out how exactly the mental health system works in this country. His son was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, schizoaffective disorder, and schizophrenia. Through his journey of trying to cope with his son’s mental illnesses, he discovered the true horror of being mentally ill in America. It is a travesty of how the mentally ill are treated in America; they go between jail and the mental hospital. I can agree with Pete Earley when I say I don’t know what is crazier, the mentally ill or the system in which they are forced to exist where they are not properly treated and shown any respect.

This book is non-fiction, but some of the names may be changed to protect the identities of the mentally ill in this book. I believe everyone should read this book because we need to see how unjust and unfair the mental health system truly is and how difficult it is to truly tackle this situation. And I hardly believe throwing high doses of medication solves the problem because the mentally ill then begin to lose hope and humanity.

Personally, I was shocked at the horrors of how these people are treated and felt very enlightened after I read Earley’s testimony of how his son and many others with his condition suffer in this country. I urge everyone to read this book to realize what is going on this country in terms of how people are maltreated.

(I apologize if I made this very short, but I do not have the time or emotional energy to go into detail of how touching this book was to me and how many tears I shed when I was reading this book. I also heard this man speak at Mount Union College in 2010 about this very book, and he, too, was as short as I am when he was giving a small book review of his own book, if you will. Also, sorry if I am running a bit late. I have just been CRAZY busy with work and also feeling very unmotivated due to my lack of energy/mild depression. Thank you for your patience, and please ask me for more information if you need be, and tell me of your opinions. I have not written a book review in like… five years, so forgive me if I am rusty.)

#mentalhealth
#peteearley
#crazy

#Weekly #fridayfeature #bookreview