Traditional Asian Medicine is Taking a Heavy Toll on Bolivian Jaguars

Hello everyone, yesterday I came across a most disturbing article. In recent years China has been investing heavily in Latin America. While that might be good for Latin America’s economy, it’s proving disastrous for wildlife.

Increased Chinese involvement has led to a sharp increase in jaguar poaching. Last year, one man alone was arrested with 105 jaguar teeth: which equals 26 dead jaguars. And that’s just from one case. As of May 2015 six out of seven confirmed cases of jaguar poaching directly involved Chinese citizens.

Since the original article is in Spanish, I have translated and summarized it on my blog. I have also listed a set of proposed actions to deal with this new threat.

Click here to be taken to the correct post.

Take care everyone! As always I would appreciate your feedback.

#feedback