Petition Started to Protect Jaguar Critical Habitat from Copper Mine

Greetings everyone! It’s about three hours past my bedtime but I have important news to share.

Two days ago I shared a link to the first ever video footage of the jaguar who lives in the United States. I also talked about the proposed Rosemont Mine that is planned to be built right in the middle of his home range. It would also lie within federally designated critical jaguar habitat.

Some people, like @myesteriousgirlneerja, said they’d like to be notified if I learned of anything we can do to oppose this mine. I just found out that the Center for Biological Diversity has started an online petition to do just that.

When complete, this petition will be sent to the head of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. It would be a clear statement that we do not want this mine to be built in the home turf of the only known jaguar in the U.S.

To sign this petition, follow this link. I’ve also written a post endorsing it on my blog.

Good night everyone! Or whatever time it is in your area.

#feedback